A Beginner’s Overview of the Map Modes in Arena of Valor

Arena of Valor sets itself apart from older games in the genre in a way that’s reminiscent of League of Legends, another massive MOBA, also owned by Tencent Games.

It features a number of modes by default, allowing players to jump into a match depending on how much time they have at their disposal and what kind of experience they’re looking for.

Here’s a quick look at the game modes that Arena of Valor offers, and what sets them apart from each other.

Standard (5v5)

Also known as Grand Battle, this is the standard, or default, mode that Arena of Valor is designed around.

There are three lanes leading from your core to the enemy core, and each lane has towers at regular intervals, three for each team. The towers automatically attack any enemy units that approach them.

Minions (known as creeps in some other MOBAs) spawn at regular intervals in each of the three lanes and make their way towards the enemy core. These are not player controlled units and automatically attack enemy units.

In between these three lanes, there is a lot of neutral territories, filled with monsters that can be killed to level up your hero.

The objective is to destroy the enemy core, and whichever team does this first wins.

Valley Skirmish (3v3)

Valley Skirmish is very similar to Grand Battle (or the standard mode) in the way that the minions and towers work.

The difference is that instead of three lanes (or alleys), there is just the one lane running from your core to the enemy’s core. The rest of the map is filled by neutral jungle that is populated by monsters that can, like in the standard mode, be killed for gold, experience, and buffs.

Instead of 5 players against 5 players, this mode is 3 versus 3.Arena of Valor

 Abyssal Clash (5v5)

This mode, while being 5v5, has a map that is similar to the Valley Skirmish mode (one lane with jungle above and below).

Players aren’t allowed to select a hero at the start of the match, instead of being allocated one at random. You can re-roll once for free, which will give you another character at random. If you want to re-roll after this, you’ll have to spend red gems to do so.

Unlike the other modes, players don’t have access to the Recall skill, which would teleport them back to their base, and going back to the base does not heal them. Instead, you can pick up kits around the map that will replenish health.

Another catch is that even if you’re doing well and have accumulated gold for items, you’re not allowed to buy any till you die.

Solo Battle (1v1)

Solo Battle is for when you feel like pitting yourself against another player, 1 versus 1.

While you don’t have access to the Recall skill in this mode either, going to your base does replenish your health. But since you’d be missing out on experience and gold if you go back to your base and the other player doesn’t, players can also compete for control of the one health pack in the middle of the map.

Also Read: Esports in the 2018 Asian Games: Everything You Need to Know

Hook Wars (5v5)

This is a special mode that players can access only on weekends. The objective is to be the first team to reach 100 points, and points are accumulated by having units in the square region at the center of the map.

Players are assigned random heroes and are also given the hooking ability, which if you land, grabs the enemy unit and pulls them towards you.

There are also power-ups that you can access at the edges of the map or from a chest that spawns at regular intervals. The team that destroys the chest by landing the last blow gains a valuable buff.

Death Match (2v2 or 3v3 or 5v5)

This mode is exactly what it sounds like. The objective is to be the last team standing. Players start with characters at max level who are equipped with predetermined items. This mode doesn’t have re-spawns and the map doesn’t have a core, towers, or minions.

Arena of Valor already offers a diverse array of experiences through hero selection and item purchases – and the many possible permutations that this allows. This sheer variety of modes makes AoV even more diverse and engaging.

If you’ve only tried the standard mode and enjoy AoV, you owe it to yourself to try these other modes. They’ll open up a whole new world within the game.

Show More

Mohit Verma

Mohit Verma is The Founder & Editor Of The Techgram, A Blogger Who is Growing Up Very Fast From Haryana, India. He Likes To Write on Topics Related To Blogging Such As Tech,Upcoming Phones , Android, Hacking and Computer!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.